James C. Grotting, MD Named New President of The American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery

Posted By American Med Spa Association, Wednesday, May 20, 2015

The American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (ASAPS) elected new officials for the 2015/2016 term recently at The Aesthetic Meeting in Montreal, PQ, Canada. Birmingham ABPS board-certified plastic surgeon, James C. Grotting, MD, is the new President of the Aesthetic Society –the leading national organization comprised of over 2,600 board-certified plastic surgeons that specialize in aesthetic surgery of the face and body.
Dr. Grotting is currently a clinical professor of plastic surgery at the University of Alabama at Birmingham and also adjunct clinical professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.  He is in private practice in Birmingham, Alabama.  Dr. Grotting is a director and oral examiner for the American Board of Plastic Surgery.  He is the author or editor of five plastic surgery textbooks and lectures internationally.  He is a past president of the Southeastern Society of Plastic Surgeons.

Dr. Grotting’s tenure as President will revolve around expanding aesthetic fellowships available to plastic surgery residents, improving aesthetic education for members and within ASAPS’ educational offerings, improving relationships within the national and global plastic surgery community and continuing to emphasize the importance of patient safety in aesthetic plastic surgery.

“While it has been an honor and privilege to have served as ASAPS President for the past year, I can think of no better colleague to hand the reins to than Dr. Grotting,” noted Michael Edwards, MD, Immediate Past President of ASAPS. “A noted lecturer, teacher, clinician and true thought leader in our specialty, he will use his educational experience and fair, balanced judgment to lead The Aesthetic Society in shaping the aesthetic landscape.”

“I am humbled by the trust the members of The Aesthetic Society have placed in me to lead our organization and look forward to working with the Board, members and staff to advance the mission of The Aesthetic Society,” stated Grotting, President of ASAPS.

Other new Aesthetic Society officers on the Executive Committee are:
President-Elect:  Daniel C. Mills, II, MD of Laguna Beach, CA.  An Aesthetic Society Member since 1992, Dr. Mills is in private practice and is an assistant clinical professor of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery at Loma Linda University School of Medicine. Dr. Mills currently serves as the technology editor of the Aesthetic Surgery Journal (ASJ), and serves on multiple Society committees. He is the past president of the California Society of Plastic Surgeons.
Vice-President:  Clyde H. Ishii, MD of Honolulu, HI.  An Aesthetic Society Member since 1996, Dr. Ishii is in private practice and is the chief of plastic surgery at Honolulu Shriners Hospital. Dr. Ishii currently serves as Chair of the Society’s Finance and Investment Committee, the International Fellowship Program and the Webinar Subcommittee, the Aesthetic Society’s Publications committee and Industry Policy committee. He served as president and governor-at-large of the Hawaii chapter of the American College of Surgeons. Dr. Ishii performs volunteer burn reconstruction, hand surgery and treatment of congenital deformities at the Honolulu Shriners Hospital.

Treasurer: W. Grant Stevens, MD of Los Angeles, CA. An Aesthetic Society Member since 1994, Dr. Stevens is the medical director of Marina Plastic Surgery.  Dr. Stevens is a clinical professor of Surgery at The University of Southern California Division of Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery, the director of the USC – Marina Del Rey Aesthetic Surgery Fellowship, and the co-director of the USC Aesthetic Surgery Division. He is an active member at Marina Del Rey Hospital where he served as chairman of the Department of Surgery. Dr. Stevens currently serves as Administrative Commissioner, Chair of the Industry Support Committee, and as a clinical editor of the Aesthetic Surgery Journal (ASJ).

Secretary: Charles Thorne, MD of New York, NY. An Aesthetic Society Member since 1996, Dr. Thorne is in private practice and is an Associate Professor of Surgery at NYU and Chairman of the Department of Plastic Surgery at Lenox Hill Hospital and Manhattan Eye, Ear and Throat Hospital. He just completed his term as Chair of the American Board of Plastic Surgery. Dr. Thorne has served as the Cosmetic Section Editor of the Journal of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, as Editor-in-Chief of the Grabb and Smith Plastic Surgery Textbook and was president of the Northeastern Society of Plastic Surgeons in 2003.