The American Academy of Dermatology Elects New Officers and Board Members

Posted By American Med Spa Association, Friday, June 5, 2015

The American Academy of Dermatology (Academy) recently announced the results of its annual election.Henry Lim The Academy’s newly elected officers and board members will lead the world’s largest dermatologic society, which represents more than 19,000 physicians who specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of skin, hair and nail conditions. These officers and board members also will hold the same positions for the American Academy of Dermatology Association. All terms of office begin in March 2016.

Henry W. Lim, MD, FAAD, was elected Academy president. Dr. Lim is the chairman of the department of dermatology and Clarence S. Livingood Chair in Dermatology at Henry Ford Health System in Detroit. Dr. Lim previously served the Academy as vice president and a member of the board of directors. He is the current chair of the Academy’s Research Agenda Committee, and the former chair of the Council on Science and Research and the Scientific Assembly Committee. He is also the current president of the American Dermatological Association and a past president of the American Board of Dermatology.
Brian Berman, MD, PhD, FAAD, was elected Academy vice president. Dr. Berman is in private practice and serves as co-director of the Center for Clinical and Cosmetic Research in Aventura, Fla. He is a voluntary professor of dermatology and cutaneous surgery at the University of Miami School of Medicine, and he holds editorial board positions for several dermatology publications. He formerly served as a member of the Academy’s board of directors and chairman of the Poster Exhibits Task Force, and he is a current member of the Academy’s Council on Science and Research.

Drs. Lim and Berman will be installed as president-elect and vice president-elect, respectively, in March 2016. Their one-year tenures as president and vice president will begin in March 2017.

Erin Boh, MD, PhD, FAAD; Kimberly J. Butterwick, MD, FAAD; Linda Stein Gold, MD, FAAD; and Neil S. Sadick, MD, FAAD, have been elected to the Academy’s board of directors. They will each serve a four-year term that will begin at the conclusion of the Academy’s 74th Annual Meeting in March 2016.

Erin Boh, MD, PhD, FAAD, is a professor and chair of the dermatology department at Tulane University in New Orleans. She serves on the Academy’s Council on Communications and chairs the Member Communications Committee. She also is a member of the National Psoriasis Foundation Medical Board.

Kimberly J. Butterwick, MD, FAAD, is in private practice in San Diego. She has previously served on the board of directors for the Women’s Dermatologic Society and the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS). She currently serves as the associate director of the ASDS Cosmetic Dermatologic Surgery Fellowship in her practice.

Linda Stein Gold, MD, FAAD, is the director of dermatology clinical research and dermatology division head at Henry Ford Health System in Detroit. She serves on the Academy’s Professionalism and Ethics Committee. She also is a member of the medical boards for the National Psoriasis Foundation and the American Acne and Rosacea Society.

Neil S. Sadick, MD, FAAD, is in private practice in New York. He is a clinical professor of dermatology at New York’s Weill Cornell Medical College. He previously served on the American Society of Dermatologic Surgery’s board of directors, and he is a past president of the American Society of Cosmetic Surgery.

To obtain photos of the Academy’s newly elected officers and board members, contact the Academy’s Communications Department at (847) 330-0230.

Headquartered in Schaumburg, Ill., the American Academy of Dermatology (Academy), founded in 1938, is the largest, most influential, and most representative of all dermatologic associations. A sister organization to the Academy, the American Academy of Dermatology Association is the resource for government affairs, health policy and practice information for dermatologists, and plays a major role in formulating policies that can enhance the quality of dermatologic care. With a membership of more than 19,000 physicians worldwide, the Academy is committed to: advancing the diagnosis and medical, surgical and cosmetic treatment of the skin, hair and nails; advocating high standards in clinical practice, education, and research in dermatology; and supporting and enhancing patient care for a lifetime of healthier skin, hair and nails. For more information, contact the Academy at 1-888-462-DERM (3376) or Follow the Academy on Facebook (American Academy of Dermatology), Twitter (@AADskin) or YouTube (Academy of Dermatology).